Hello world! Be Happy?

“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.”– The Dalai Lama

(from the book, The Art Of Happiness, published in 1998 and written by His Holiness, the Dalai Lama and Howard C. Cutler, M.D)

The big bowl.  That’s how I view Las Vegas, a dry, dusty bowl with a line of colored lights racing down the middle. Racing to nowhere in particular, no destination, no intention, except to circle back and go nowhere again.  A metaphor for life?

Free will.  That is what brought me to Vegas.  I chose this. As much as I chose every aspect of my life. My schooling, my employments, my residence, all my choices.  And yet, I was unable to answer a simple question, “Are you happy?”  The mere thought of happiness is perplexing, but when it is your own hands,  ultimate happiness never seems to be put into play.    How many people can honestly say they are happy with their home,  job or schooling or location?  We are constantly complaining about these things, but how many of us make the changes for happiness.  This very thought leads me to my New Years resolution.

Last year I vowed to be kinder and nicer to everyone I encountered.  I believe I was successful, with a few animated exceptions.  Like the time I found 2 pit-bull puppies, my daughter sneaked into my home; a home where 3 grown adult dogs already resided.  Or the dramatic outburst I experienced when my daughter left my nest empty. Overall, I did attempt to be kind, but not happy.  Random acts of kindness are wonderful toward others, but why not create a resolution for oneself? Sure losing weight is good, quit smoking is smart and drink less are all good resolutions…but be happy?

Therefore, I will start of 2011 with this resolution; To do something once a day, for myself that makes me happy. This could be something as simple as having a diet busting piece of cheesecake or taking a dip in the pool.  Happy is defined as delighted, pleased, or glad, as over a particular thing. This appears to make this resolution easy, but I know better.  So bring on the a new year, as I awake tomorrow in search of happiness in my life,  I will make a daily discover of what pleases me, delights me and makes me glad, through my own reasonable diligence.

So, Happy New Year world!

5 thoughts on “Hello world! Be Happy?

  1. I believe that happiness for ones self is the key and I hope u find that happiness and I hope so to for myself and reading this made me happy lotta love to u

Leave a Reply

