Favorite Sound

As I was reviewing subject matter for today’s post, I was inspired by the suggestions from Word Press via Plinky.com.

Then my mind wandered to one of my favorite shows, “Actor’s Studio” with host James Lipton. Near the end of every interview he asks his guest a Proust Questionnaire of the questions listed below.  This is includes favorite sound or noise.  Naturally, the answers the celebrities give vary; some humorous, others profound.

My brain began running through my internal file-a-fax.  What is my favorite sound and do I have just one?  My immediate quick fire response would be, “The sound of my daughter’s laughter.”  This can be expanded to any child’s laughter.  The high pitch glee filled with the contagious effect that makes me laugh in turn.  Although this response seems too obvious, I stick to it.  Nothing in the this world is more powerful, more healing, and more easily shared than a smile and laughter.

James Lipton’s Proust Questionnaire

  1. What is your favorite word?
  2. What is your least favorite word?
  3. What turns you on?
  4. What turns you off?
  5. What sound or noise do you love?
  6. What sound or noise do you hate?
  7. What is your favorite curse word?
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  9. What profession would you not like to do?
  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

Today’s moment of happy came when I spoke to my daughter and heard her laugh. Even at the age of 22, it is still the most innocent sound of joy my ears hear.

Leave a Reply

