I can Fly!!!

Today’s post idea brought to you by Plinky.com:

What’s something you never believed until you experienced it?

If you would have asked me, when I was 5 years old, if I can fly? I would’ve had said yes.  Ask me again when I am seven, I would have laughed and told you, “I’m not a bird.”   When I turned 29, I believed I could learn to fly.  So I tried.  I took my first Tandem and was hooked.

I spent a year learning and mastering the art of skydiving.  The jumping out of a plane was easy.  Free-falling to the earth at 120 mph was exhilarating.  The actual flying; under a canopy, was yet to be learned.  It took me only 18 jumps before breaking my first bone.  Another 70 jumps before another broken bones, all contributed to what is known as a hard landing.  I never mastered the ability to fly.  I could free fall with the best of them and fell in love with it.  But when it came to landing my parachute, I sucked.  Still do.

However, I am among the elite few that actually have parachuted.  So all in all, I can’t believe I did it and so glad I did.

My moment of happy: knowing I have the courage to overcome my fears to accomplish what is ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

